Networking Event – Strategic Leadership Series

On Wednesday April 20th from 4:45-6 PM (I was a little late due to work), I attended the Strategic Leadership Series at the Dorothy A. Johnson Center for Philanthropy. The event was hosted by the Dorothy A. Johnson Center for Philanthropy. The purpose of this event was to engage nonprofit professionals and the community.

The guest speaker for this day of the series was Steve Zimmerman. Steve works at Spectrum Nonprofit Services and talked to us about a sustainability mindset. He discussed effective ways to gain funding for nonprofit organizations, as well as how to determine what funds to accept. He encouraged us to think about whether the funding was ethical and if it aligned with the nonprofit company’s values.

He also spoke about having an effective team and board. He discussed that there are some boards of nonprofits who are good at analyzing, but the staff and team are better at developing strategies, so these two groups of people need to work together to benefit the company.

This event was a networking event because I learned a lot of new things about nonprofits. I may work for one in the future, so the information I learned at this event could help me at a nonprofit company. Additionally, there were tons of nonprofit employers at this event listening to Steve speak. Many of them asked Steve questions about their own nonprofit. If I plan on applying to any of the nonprofits that these people work at, hopefully they would recognize me, and it would help me to obtain a job!

Overall, the event was very interesting. Though there was no free food or drinks, I still had a great time and learned a lot. Check out the awesome, and somewhat awkward, pics that I took from the event below! Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment